It is not for me to write an eulogy for Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam mainly because there are many better ones written by more qualified and dignified people. Everyone knows that he was probably the most popular and best President India has ever had. Not for nothing is he known as the missile man of India and being the recipient of the 3 highest civilian honours given by the nation is no mean feat. The honour of his visit to VJTI was so great that it may not be possible to put it into words.

For the first time ever I felt that our college had outdone itself and pulled out all stops to impress the ex-President. Security was water tight with police vans doing the rounds of the roads around the college. The atmosphere was so tense with excitement that you could have tasted it. Students were excited and so was the staff though they attempted to conceal it behind fixed smiles. Being one of the twelve students selected from the college to ask His excellency a question was a great honour which came with certain privileges like an early entry into the hall. Admittedly the seating arrangements were not the most comfortable for the students but the aim was to fit in more students, so I shall not comment.

His excellency was apparently delayed by almost 45 mins. (or the students were deliberately misinformed about the time of his arrival) but gave a full hour to the students. Among the other dignitaries present were Dr. J J Irani and Dr. Anil Kakodkar, two men who require little introduction. On Dr. Kalam’s speech I shall pass no comment as it is not my place to do so. It was an honour when he called out my name so I could put forth my question to him. For those who may not be aware, my question was: “Even though India produces so many computer and IT engineers every year, why are we still seen as the outsourcing hub and not as a leader in the production of new technologies for the masses.” To my delight he called my question a very good one but to my disappointment his answer to the question was not something I understood, nor what I expected.

More illuminating was the discussion I had with a friend of mine after the great man left. This friend of mine(whom I do not name since I asked him not for permission) is already on his way to greatness(true greatness) and on a large scale. I only hope that I can follow in his footsteps soon.

Comments on: "With the missile man of India" (3)

  1. Mihir Mangal said:

    meeting Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam is a privilege in itself and getting your question answered by HIM is really great..i really admire Dr.Kalam but obv wont choose this medium to express those feelings..all i cn say after readin this is tht i wish i too can meet one of the greatest personalities the world has seen..

  2. Abhishek Sen said:

    Hi Anand, i m in VJTI electronix, VJTI, FY(2013 batch), glad to read ur wonderful post, i myself to ws one of d lucky ones who got issued entry passes, thanx 4 posing d wonderful question !! like everyone else,i too feel dat d time i spent in d textile hall, in front of His excellency was one of my best xperiences in my life!! Hope Dr.Kalam visits our college again n again n again đŸ™‚

  3. thinking4heights said:

    @Mihir since this is not the best medium I have not written much about his speech nor commented on it. It is not my place to do so. Humility is one thing I am still learning and no matter where I go or what I become I hope to remain as humble a person as His Excellency.
    @Abhishek I am not sure how many people got passes though there was a long line to enter the hall and yes we are both very lucky people.

Leave a comment